Wed. May 22nd, 2024

Victor Osimhen wins CAF African Male Football Player Of The Year Award

The Nigeria and Napoli forward was crowned the CAF African Footballer of the year for the first time in his career. He made it past Morocco’s Achraf Hakimi and Egypt’s Mohammed Salah to win the prestigious award. The Nigerian had a fantastic season with his club Napoli, scoring 26 goals and providing 4 assists. He helped the club win the 2022-2023 Serie A title for the first time in 33 years, which they have three in total.

Osimhen was born in Nigeria and started his senior career in Germany at VfL Wolfsburg in 2017. After a season and a half, he moved on loan to Belgian side Charleroi in 2018–19, before moving to Lille in France. Osimhen made his debut in European football with the French club during the 2019–20 UEFA Champions League. In 2020, Osimhen moved to Serie A club Napoli for a club record fee of €70 million. He won the Serie A Best Young Player award in the 2021–22 season.

In the FIFA U-17 World Cup that Nigeria won in 2015, Osimhen was named the Golden Boot winner. He participated in the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations after making his debut for the senior national team in June 2017. He presently ranks as the Nigeria national team’s fourth-highest goalscorer of all time. President Muhammadu Buhari admitted Osimhen as a member of the Federal Republic on May 29, 2023.

Winning this year’s CAF African Male Best Player of the year award makes him the first Nigerian to do so since Kanu Nnamkwo won it in 1999. He became the first Nigerian to place among the top 10 winners of the 2023 Ballon d’Or award as he was placed eighth in the ceremony held in Paris, France.

At the same ceremony Nigeria and Barcelona forward Asisat Oshoala won the Female African Player of Year wining the award a record six times, she won her first ever CAF Female Best player in 2014 and continued to win it in 2016, 2017, 2019, 2022 and 2023 making her the first female to achieve that height since the commencement of the award in 2001, she is the fifth Nigerian female to have won the award. In 2021 she was named African Women’s footballer of the decade.

Morocco’s manager Regragui won the coach of the year award, he lead the Moroccan’s to their first ever World Cup semifinals in the 2022 World Cup tournament, which also made them the first African country to reach the semifinals since the commencement of the tournament. Yassine Bounou the goalkeeper of the Moroccan national team who plays for Al Hilal Saudi Pro League and former Sevilla goalkeeper also won the Goal keeper of the year award. Morocco again won the African team of the year following their impressive performance during the 2022 World Cup beating countries like Spain and Portugal.

Senegal’s Lamine Camara who plays his club football at Metz won the Young Player of the Year award. South Africa and Al Ahly forward Percy Tau also won the inter club player of the year award. Al- Ahly was adjudged the Africa Mens Football club of the Year.

The award ceremony that was hosted in Marrakech, Morocco was a smooth one with deserving winners. Legends that graced the occasion includes former Cameroon and former CAF Male African Best Player Samuel Etoo, Senegal’s El Hadji Diouf, Emmanuel Adebayor, Abedi Pele, Jay Jay Okocha, Joathan Pitroipa and Mustapha El Haddaoui.

Ghana’s Mohammed Kudus and Thomas Partey was named among the Africa best XI. Is Ghana going to have an overall Mens Best African Player in the subsequent years?

About The Author

By Isaac

Isaac Affum(iNewtyn) is a passionate blogger who with a careful study aims at providing vital,authentic and educational insights in the world of sports and entertainment and also gives out detailed analysis on questions that is of interest to the society

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *